Africa Mali West Africa World 

Mali, Guinea and Burkina Faso seek re-entry into AU

Mali, Guinea and Burkina Faso are seeking re-entry into the African Union.

The foreign affairs ministers of these countries are in Ethiopia’s capital, Addis Ababa, to lobby to be let back into the AU as this week’s summit opens.

All three countries were suspended from the African Union and the regional grouping Ecowas following military coups.

Mali’s foreign ministry said the suspensions were hindering the desire of all three Sahel countries to make the transition back to civilian rule.

The ministers will not be able to participate in the summit but say they have met foreign ministers from the hosts Ethiopia and the Comoros Islands who currently hold the presidency of the AU.

– Advertisement –

The Peace and Security Council of the African Union (AU) announced on Friday that it will be meeting to discuss lifting the sanctions imposed on Mali, Burkina Faso and Guinea following military coups.


Sourced from Africa Feeds

Related posts