Orange AFCON South Africa 2013 Preliminary Draw off to a good start in Johannesburg

The teams will now play a two-legged knockout system of home and away games played between 7 – 9 September and 12 – 14 October. The draw for 30 teams promises some mouth-watering matches as the race to join hosts South Africa and make a total of 16 teams reaches the end. Once the 15 winners from this draw emerge the final draw for the tournament itself will take place on 26 October.  

Defending champions Zambia and beaten finalist in the last tournament, Ivory Coast leads the seeded teams expected to make the 15 wining sides from the draw. South Africa’s  Bafana Bafana team did not have to quality as they are host country and will only know on 26 October.

The event  was attended by the Hon. Minister of Sports and Recreation, Mr. Fikile Mbalula, the 1st Vice President of CAF,  Suketu Patel; Secretary General of CAF,  Hicham El Amrani, Sporting Fraternity, the Chairperson of the   Board Of the Local  Organizing Committee, Adv. Chief Mwelo Nonkonyana and the CEO Mvuzo Mbebe

CAF Secretary General of CAF, Mr Hicham El Amrani conducted the draw  assisted by former Bafana Bafana captain, Neil Tovey, as well as by former Nigerian footballer Daniel Owefin Amukachi, the teams were drawn as follows:

Mali vs Botswana
Zimbabwe vs Angola
Ghana vs Malawi
 Liberia v Nigeria
Zambia vs Uganda
Cape Verde vs Cameroon
Mozambique vs Morroco
Sierra Leone vs Tunisia
Guinea vs Niger
Sudan vs Ethiopia
Libya vs Algeria
Cote Vs d’Ivoire vs Senegal
Democratic Rep of Congo vs Equatorial Guinea
Gabon vs Togo
Burkina Faso vs Central African Republic

Related posts