Site icon Africa Global Village

Zuma: AU Does Not Recognize New Libyan Government

He again criticized NATO’s bombing campaign in Libya, saying a United Nations resolution authorized NATO only to protect airspace over Libya.

During a meeting last month, the AU’s 15-member Peace and Security Council rejected calls to recognize Libya’s National Transitional Council (NTC).

The African Union has since called for the formation of an inclusive transitional government in Libya.

The AU panel on Libya to meet Wednesday includes the leaders of South Africa, Mauritania, Mali, Congo-Brazzaville and Uganda.

At least 20 African countries have individually recognized Libya’s new government, even though the African Union has refused to do so.

Former Libyan leader Moammar Gadhafi was a powerful figure in the African Union during his 42-year rule.  He served as its chairman in 2009 and was a chief financial backer.  Mr. Gadhafi’s oil-rich country paid dues that amounted to 15 percent of all contributions made by member states.

Exit mobile version